Skip to content

I Love Trees

August 1, 2014

 

When I have lived my life
However happy or sad that may be
I’d like my friends to think of me
As the one who loved trees.

I may not have a statesman’s poise
nor can I create a thrill with my speech
but I can nurture a sapling with all my love
and see it grow into a very big tree.

If I taransport a sapling oak
to rear its mighty head,
I wil make for the others a childhood shrine.
That will not soon decay

Or if I pant a tree with fruit
on which the birds may feed
Then I would have fostered feathered friends
And that’s a worthy deed.

In winters when the days grow short
and the spirits run low
I’d plant a pine upon the scape
which would lend a cheery glow.

I would like a tree to mark the spot
where I am laid to rest.
for that would be the epitaph
that I would like the best.

Through it is not carved upon a stone
for those who come to see
But friends would know that resting here
in the one who liked trees.

-Krishi Shah (12)
-Illustration : Saurabh Pandey

Comments are closed.